Diane Pernet, A Shaded View on Fashion Film (ASVOFF) – a homage to fashion films

A Shaded View on Fashion Film (ASVOFF) – a homage to fashion films – first launched in September 2008, in Paris at the contemporary art museum Jeu de Paume.  The ASVOFF festival takes place over three intense days and showcases a slate of eclectic short films – ranging from 30 seconds to five minutes – inspired by fashion, style and beauty.

Its founder is the influential fashion blogger and fashion icon; Diane Pernet – instantly recognisable by her black shrouded appearance and striking slash of red lipstick. Diane started the festival because she instinctively felt it filled a gap in the creative market for this very unique genre of cinema and that certainly shows in the talent it’s attracted or featured: Chris Cunningham, Róisín Murphy, Tilda Swinton, Mike Figgis, Chloë Sevigny, Dita Von Teese, Bruce Weber as well as Yves Saint Laurent, Gucci, Sergio Rossi, Hussein Chalayan, Rodarte, Givenchy, Yohji Yamamoto… the list is long.

So why have fashion films become so popular in recent years?  Well, one thing is certain, they are a fresh and innovative angle on presenting fashion…  the exploration of fashion through film is a more creative and entertaining medium than the usual standard and very static ads. And the marriage of fashion and film is growing like wildfire – think the Marc Jacobs Film Festival in Melbourne and designer Vanessa Bruno’s stunning and ethereal short films with names such as Lou Doillon and Kate Bosworth as just two examples.

This year’s ASVOFF took place again at the spectacular Centre Pompidou in Paris, and celebrated its fifth anniversary.  An astounding 500 fashion film submissions were made from 50 countries to ASVOFF 5, all dreaming of winning ASVOFF’s prizes which include MK2 Grand Prize, Emerging Talent Prize, Best Art Direction, Best Acting, Best Styling and, for the first time ever,  Best Documentary Prize.  This year’s winners included Director Jason Last for Best Documentary,  Directors Dis and Lucy McRae for Best Advertising, Brett Guita Hofer for Best Acting, Monica Menez for Best Art Direction and Jessica Mitrani who won the big one – the Grand Prix ASVOFF (stay tuned for Creative Mapping’s interview with Jessica soon).

The jury itself was just as impressive and included artist Orlan, Emanuel Levy, film critic and author and jury member for over 40 international film festivals including Cannes, Venice, Sundance, etc…, Tim Blanks, Style.com, Editor-at-Large, Glenn Adamson, V & A Museum, Head of Research, Elisha Karmitz, Multimedia Director of MK2, Stefano Tonchi, W magazine, Editor-in-Chief, Marian Masone, Associate Director of Programming, The Film Society of Lincoln Center, Rossy de Palma…

If 2012 was the best year yet for ASVOFF then we wait with baited breath for 2013 which we have no doubts will see Diane’s brainchild of creative collaborations between fashion and film taken to even greater and more glamorous heights.